1. Don’t speak for me!

January 25, 2008

As I change from a doormat to an untamed woman, I have noticed something about other people.  They will sneakily try to speak for you to get what they want.  They’ll try to put words in your mouth. 

This happens a lot when I try to assert myself.  Recently, I asked for more commitment from a guy I was seeing.  His response was:  “You’re not ready for a boyfriend”.  I immediately went into ‘good girl’ mode and agreed with him.  It wasn’t until I got off the phone that I realized that I AM ready for a boyfriend.  It’s just more convenient to HIM.  He can not commit to me and use me ‘not being ready’ as an excuse. 

Now, I’m not going to beat myself up over agreeing with him.  I’m still at the start of this journey, I’m not an untamed woman yet.  But I’m patting myself on the back over recognizing what he was doing.  Yes, it took me a while, but I see it.

Leave a comment